Perhaps the highest accolade for an APWA member is to be named to the “Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year”  The work of these officials “reflects the highest standard of professional conduct combined with excellence in achievement in relationships to the manpower and financial resources available in each recipient’s jurisdiction.”

1960 Rex Witton, Missouri Department of Transportation
1961 William Hedges, City of Springfield
1972 Peter F. Mattei, Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District
1975 Larry Unland, City of St. Louis
1977 Raymond A. Beck, City of Columbia
1982 David G. Snider, City of Springfield
1983 Allan B. Dieckgraefe, City of University City
1989 Vijay K. Bhasin, City of Creve Coeur
1997 Dale Houdeshell, City of St. Peters
1999 Lowell Patterson, City of Columbia
2002 Marc Thornsberry, City of Springfield
2006 Mike Geisel, City of Chesterfield
2009 Dave H. Miller, City of Branson & Earl Newman, City of Springfield
2011 Gary Scheipeter, City of Clayton
2012 Phil Broyles, City of Springfield
2020 Glenn Smith, CDG Engineers

Back to top